Changing my tune…

Standard

IMG_2344.JPG

As a new parent, I keep finding myself doing and saying things I swore I’d never do before having a baby. But as the days and weeks go on, I prove to myself that I am in fact slowly but surely, going back on many of them!

One of the things I always said I’d never do, is get a ‘baby on board’ sign in a car. I hated them. I’m not even sure why, it just seemed so unnecessary, did people believe that without the sign, other drivers would be out to get them on the road?! Would getting the sign make any difference apart from to annoy?

‘Dammit I was about to ram that car off the road but now they have a ‘baby on board’ sign in the window it seems rather harsh. I’ll go back to my original plan of burning insects with a magnifying glass instead…’

As may be coming across, I was really quite irritated by them. So when we started preparing for baby, one of the top things on my list of priorities was to definitely not become ‘those people.’

However, my husband recently informed me that the original use of those signs was in case of a car crash, in the horrendous event of a collision, a baby on board sign would highlight to the emergency services that they needed to look for a baby. It’s also why the original yellow signs have, ‘child on board’ written on the reverse.

And was why I instantly backtracked a lifetime of criticism and bought one of those signs! I at least stuck to the uniformed yellow, none of this embellished or ‘blinged up’ cutesey versions, functional and practical emergency use only.

So now I can’t make a cutting comment when I see one of those signs, and of course I’ve learnt my lesson to not be a smart alec when I don’t have all the facts. Perhaps those horrendous eyelashes that people put on headlights actually protect from heavy rain, maybe the cars with ‘powered by fairy dust’ etched on them are the new sustainable and environmentally friendly powered engines, maybe those ‘princess on board’ signs actually denote royalty…

…I very much doubt it but I’m going to keep my mouth shut from now on, just in case!

2 thoughts on “Changing my tune…

  1. I was exactly the same! Then I changed my tune too – not because I discovered that they actually had a use in an emergency (never knew that!)
    , but because I was SO paranoid about harming my baby somehow that I just thought any possible additional protection was probably worth it. As it happened, I never did get one – but only because of baby brained disorganisation – certainly not my previous high minded disapproval!

Leave a Reply

