Super Surprise Shower!

Standard

As a lot of my recent posts will tell you, ‘A Bumpy Ride,’ is certainly an apt title for our pregnancy journey, and in recent weeks it was a very real possibility that our slightly underdeveloped little one was determined to have things their way and come into the world earlier than ideal. This was obviously of slight concern but the staff at the hospital were fabulous and at no point did we feel that things weren’t completely in hand. (As a side note I have to say that this is 90% down to the wonderful midwives who were constantly calm, cheerful and soothing as well as explaining things to us very clearly.)

Anyway, for my Mum, an additional concern was that she would miss the birth of her first Grandchild as she was due to fly out to Greece for a week between week 37 and 38. A holiday that I am duty bound to point out that was booked before we even knew our little one was on her way.

As it has been a rather hectic and emotional last few months, although at the much more energetic beginning of the pregnancy, ideas of brightly coloured baby showers and all of those things were at the forefront of my mind; to be totally honest, by the third trimester, I didn’t have the time, the energy or the inclination to do one. It seemed organising one when I was having to cancel coffee dates left, right and centre would an unnecessary and unreliable event to be planned.

Luckily for me, my Mum knows me better than I know myself some times and one of her strongest traits is thoughtfulness. With the irregularly kept timetable and wavering levels of energy etc, getting my family from Brighton, Manchester, London, Bristol and other places was not only not fair on them if she had to cancel but also not really worth it for what would only be a few hours one evening; she stuck to a few locally based family members. Inviting them to her house on a Thursday evening, within two or three days, she not only got together a few of the family, but also transformed her lounge into a baby shower wonderland! Balloons, pink cupcakes, decorations, games, a buffet which everyone brought a little something along to add to, when I walked in, it took everything I had not to burst into tears!

Mum had managed to organise a low key event that still made me feel fantastically special and relaxed and it was so nice to sit and chat with everyone about the baby without it being based around phrases like ‘bicornuate uterus,’ or discussing how the epilepsy medication would affect the c-section options etc etc. Instead we cooed and ahh-ed over teeny tiny baby gro’s and other thoughtful gifts that people had brought. Mum had even, in the time she had ordered a beautiful nappy cake, something I’d heard of before but didn’t really know what it entailed!

My lovely family collective!

My lovely family collective!

By 10pm I was really tired and we never got round to playing the games but it had been such a lovely evening taking some chilled time with family that I felt really relaxed and it did me the absolute world of good! I’m so grateful that Mum organised the evening and put so much work into making it just what I needed. Her first Granddaughter was so grateful, she even promises to stay put until Nana’s come back home from Greece!

Since the baby shower we’ve had another hospital stay (all fine) so this post is slightly belated than I meant it to be, and at the time of typing Mum is due home in two days and I’m really thrilled that that’s the case.

We really don’t have very long to go now, and are on almost daily monitoring and it’s exhausting but we are becoming more and more excited despite it being difficult.

It made me even more thankful to be so close to my family and friends at this time, sometimes, even for those of us used to being the ones doing the organising or doing the sorting of things – sometimes, we need to just let other people do what we don’t realise is for the best! If I’d have been asked about a baby shower, I would’ve have said “oh Christ no, I’ve got no time, I’ve got no energy and it’s frankly the last thing I need to be sorting out at the moment.” But luckily for me, Mother proves she knows best!

So thank you Mum, for a wonderful evening.

One thought on “Super Surprise Shower!

  1. Veronika Jordan

    ‘…Her first Granddaughter was so grateful, she even promises to stay put until Nana’s come back home from Greece!’
    I think that was wishful thinking. When Scarlett was ready to make her entrance nothing was going to stop her!

Leave a Reply

