Hopes and dreams…

Standard

I have always been an advocate of dreaming big, that way, there’s always something to aspire to, something to look forward to, something to plan for. But I am also a ridiculous writer of lists so the opportunity to make another one is always an exciting prospect for me… (small things!)

Because of that, I have written a bucket list (for those unfamiliar with the term, it’s a list of things you want to achieve in your lifetime) I wrote it firstly as an early teen and then during the various stages of my life and development of my personality (I’m not quite as bothered about owning a pair of Kappa popper trousers as I evidently was aged 13) have updated it accordingly.

With the little one on the way, it got me thinking about what her hopes and dreams might be and as discussed in my last blog entry, we’ve been thinking a lot about what her personality will be. But one of the things that occurred to be post posting, was how much my personality was perhaps different to how my parents thought it might turn out. What did they want me to achieve? What type of adult did they hope I’d turn out to be? As a child, most of the things I did was because my parents decided it for me (I say most because I don’t think they had much say in the playdoh eating incident of 1990) I went horse riding because they took me horseriding, I learnt to play the piano because my parents arranged for me to do so. Even down to smaller things, we spent a lot of time on the beach because ‘home’ was still Brighton and we spent a lot of time with family there on the beach; and consequently I have a real love of the seaside and swimming in the sea. A love that could probably not have naturally developed in the town I grew up in in the middle of the Cotswolds.

 

And it then got me thinking about the bucket list in my head for my child. What do I hope for her? What do I want for her to do? Some of them inevitably will clash with who she develops to be and some she will have no interest in doing herself but for the first few years at least, it’s down to us as parents to shape her experiences.

So, as it quite nicely leads on to an opportunity to make a list, I thought I’d write a really quick one of the first 20 things that come to mind that I hope for my baby girl to experience or achieve in her lifetime. Maybe I’ll show her when she’s a teenager and she can be embarrassed by my ridiculous ideas or impressed at how many she’s already ticked off, who knows! The list is random, because it is literally some of the first things to fall out of my mind so please do excuse the random jumps in timeline!

1) See as much of the amazing world around us as well as falling in love with wherever is home

2) Spend a day in a home made fort (wearing cape and mask optional but recommended)

3) Fall in love

4) Also to have her heart broken, something that will break my heart but I really do believe is a necessary part of life (saying that, her Dad reserves the right to be on hand with a shotgun for whoever breaks it..!)

5) Disappear into a book and feel that connection to a whole new world of adventure

6) Experience new cuisines, new experiences and new ways of doing things so she can truly make decisions on her own tastes and preferences

7) Laugh so much her tummy hurts, preferably often

8) Do things with complete abandon; whether it be dancing to whatever tune is in her head regardless of whose around, or having the confidence to be into an unpopular pastime without fear of ‘being the loser’

9) Be a good friend to others and to have good friends

10) Learn about her history and be proud of where she’s come from

11) Be generous and charitable to others and appreciate whatever she may have without dwelling on what is popularly termed online these days as ‘first world problems’

12) Have a zest for life and be able to pass this zest onto other people

13) Make mistakes and be able to learn from them and not let them be in charge of her

14) have the courage to do things that scare her

15) Get completely wrapped up in a first love relationship and experience the innocent bliss of young love

16) Run down a hill, with that ridiculous freedom and energy that only kids posses

17) Build a snowman

18) Find joy in the ridiculous and appreciate the value of time spent just enjoying ‘playing’ even as an adult

19) Have no limit to her imagination

20) Have a determination to make her mark, however that may be

 

PS. At age 15 I managed to get that pair of Kappa popper trousers so dreams really can come true…

Leave a Reply

